Board of Directors

Looking out for the rights and benefits of Oregon's retired public employees.

Current Board Members:

(Updated June 18th, 2015)


Jay Osborne of West Linn (Chair) Represents local school district retirees. He became a board member in November, 2010. He retired from the North Clackamas school district in 2009 where he was employed as a classified employee and manager for 27 years. During that time, he also was active in the Oregon School District Employees Association. He lives in West Linn. He was re-elected to the board in September. His current term on the OPRI board will end October 1, 2015.

Bob Oleson of Wilsonville (Vice-chair) Represents state retirees. Oleson was the public affairs director and lobbyist for the Oregon State Bar for 25 years. Since retirement, he has been operating a consulting company specializing in policy and organizational projects. He was first elected vice-chair of the board in 2010. His current term on the board will end October 1, 2017.

Helga Thompson of Dallas  Helga Thompson has recently been appointed to the OPRI Board.  Helga was a math and science teacher in the public schools for 34 years and after retirement continues to substitute.  During that time she also was a consultant to school districts in 22 states: working in teacher-training programs and math and science curriculum construction.  She was a finalist in Oregon for the Teacher In Space Program when it began in the 1980€™s.

Helga’s been active in state and local political circles as well.  She served as Polk County Republican Central Committee chair for 8 years.   Working on campaigns for statewide offices is something she continues to do.  Currently she is involved with the Dorchester Conference, which is the oldest continuous political conference in the United States.

John Goodson of Silverton Represents local government retirees He was first elected to the board in September, 2011, filling a position that had been vacant for a year. Goodson retired in 2001 as public works director for Lane County, a position he had held since 1982. He was re-elected to a full term in September, 2012.  His current term will end October 1, 2015.

Steven Kunke of Albany Represents local school district retirees. He was first elected to fill the unexpired term of Russ Gregory in September, 2012. He expressed his interest in continuing as a board member for a full three-year term and was elected at the September, 2013 meting. Kunke retired earlier in 2012 as an assistant superintendent in the Greater Albany Public Schools system, a position he had held since 2001. The OPRI board term will end October 1, 2016.

Charles Luukinen of Salem Represents the state judiciary on the board. A native of Astoria, he retired in 2010 as a Circuit Court Judge in Polk County after more than 24 years on the bench. He was first elected to the board in January 2011 to fill an unexpired term that ended in October 2011. His new current term will end October 1, 2017.

Greg Monahan of Portland Represents Higher Education. He retired two years ago from Eastern Oregon University where he had served as a professor of history for 26 years. He was appointed in March to fill the unexpired term of the late Gary Tiedeman which ends in September and to a full three-year term that begins October 1, 2014 and ends in 2017. He has been a member of OPRI since the mid-1990s and in 2013 testified several times before legislative committees in opposition to changes in the COLA.